Say Yes To The Dress

Anne Gardner
4 min readDec 14, 2020

Tucked away high on a shelf, out of mind and out of arm’s reach, my wedding dress has maintained its clandestine existence for more than 30 years.

It made its one and only debut on a cold and dark December night. I had anguished over the process of finding it. I was never much for shopping and the idea of being turned on a revolving pedestal, while poked and perused by a gaggle of shopkeepers, made me feel both queasy and embarrassed. The price tag only heightened my discomfort. Although my father was happy to foot the bill, it felt like an inordinately expensive and frivolous purchase…

--

--

Anne Gardner

Writer. Minister. Adventurer. When I grow up, I want to be the next Nancy Drew, or George Plimpton, or Lisa Ling, or Anne Lamott, well you get the idea.